TLNing (teacherlibrarian.org)

A community for teacher-librarians and other educators

This is my first year at the middle school level. Today some students came in during their study period and asked if they could go on club penguin. Any advice?

Views: 57

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I'm having a hard time with this, too--not club penguin per se, but games/interactive websites in general. This is my first year at the middle school level as well, and the students seem used to playing games on the computers. I feel old-fashioned and mean, but I don't allow any of it. I think it's hard to make exceptions because once you start doing that it gets so hard to manage, and you have to look at each different game they're playing. My principal has hands-down said no games, period, so that makes it pretty clear for me. We have a very limited amount of bandwidth in our schools and the games use up too much of it. That's how I explain it.

I feel like there's so many articles out there about gaming in the library, but I have yet to see how this could work for me without things getting too out of control. I was thinking of possibly allowing games one day a week during lunch periods, like Game Day Fridays or something so there are definite limits for the students.

I know that doesn't answer your question about Club Penguin, but hopefully it helped...
Thanks. Yes, it does help to know how others are dealing with this. I am wondering too about those who do allow gaming and how they are able to manage it.
I was a computer teacher for 8 years before I became a 6th grade teacher. I was a 6th grade teacher for 4 years. Then I became the facilitator for the Gifted and Talented Program for the K-12 grade students.
I have seen the progressive interaction of students with the digital equipment around them. They are of course "Digital Natives".